Index of Exemptions
Homestead Exemption Portability
Disabled Veterans Homestead Property Tax Discount
$500 Widow’s Exemption
$500 Widower’s Exemption
$500 Disability Exemption
$5000 Disabled Veteran
$500 Exemption for blind persons
Service-connected total and permanent disability exemption
Exemption for totally and permanently disabled persons
Religious, Literary, Scientific or Charitable Exemption
Charter School Facilities Exemption
Hospitals, Nursing Homes and Homes for Special Services
statutes define property tax exemptions that are available in the State of
Florida. Application for these exemptions must be made between January 1st and
March 1st of the year for which you apply. The initial application must be made
in person at the Property Appraiser's office.
for Current Tax Year
January 1st – March 1st
Late Filing* for Current
March 2nd to the 25th
day following the mailing of the Notice of Proposed Property Taxes
(TRIM) contact office for details
Early Filing for
the Next Tax Year
March 2nd to December
*There are provisions within the
statues to allow for a late filing of applications for extenuating
circumstances, on or before the 25th day following the mailing of
the Notice of Proposed Property Taxes (TRIM).
This date typically falls in September.
Exemptions do not require annual renewal by the recipient. After the original application approval, you will receive an automatic renewel notice.
Homestead Exemption Section 196.031, F.S.
Applications for Homestead and any other exemptions must be filed, in person, at the Property Appraisers Office.
(see our Contact Us page for locations)
person who has legal or equitable title to real property in the State of
Florida and who resides thereon and in good faith makes it his or her permanent
home is eligible to receive a homestead exemption of up to $50,000. The first
$25,000 applies to all property taxes. The additional $25,000 applies to any
assessed value over $50,000 and only to non-school taxes. First time applicants
are required to furnish their social security number, and should have available
evidence of ownership i.e., deed, contract, etc. If title is held by the
husband alone, a wife may file for him, with his consent, and vice versa.
If filing for the first time, be
prepared to provide the following information declaring that you were living in
the dwelling which is being claimed for homestead exemption on January 1:
Description (Deed or Tax Bill).
B. If a Mobile Home, provide a copy of the registration(s) or title(s).
C. If in a Recreational Vehicle Park, provide a copy of the registration or
D. Florida Driver's License(s), with current address. If married, provide the husband's and wife's.
E. Florida Vehicle Tag Registration(s).
F. Columbia County Voter's Registration Card(s), or, a Declaration(s) of
Domicile filed with the Columbia County Clerk's office, with the current
G. If not an American citizen, we must see the Resident Alien card(s).
H. Social Security Card(s) or number(s). If married, both spouse’s numbers, even if the property is only in one name.
Homestead Exemption Portability Section 196.031, F.S.
applicant will have to fill out Form DR-501T, “Transfer of Homestead Assessment
Difference,” in the office of the property appraiser of the county in which
their new home is located. Required information on this form includes the date
that the previous homestead was sold or no longer used as a homestead, the
address and parcel identification number of the previous homestead, a list of
all other owners of the previous homestead, an affirmative statement that none
of the previous owners remained in the homestead and continued to receive a
homestead exemption, and a sworn statement that he or she received the
homestead exemption on the previous parcel. Form DR-501, “Original Application
for Ad Valorem Tax Exemption” should also be completed to apply for the
homestead exemption on the new homestead.
Additional $50,000 Homestead Exemption for Persons 65 and Over.
To qualify for the senior exemption:
The taxpayer must qualify for and have or file for Homestead Exemption.
The taxpayer must be 65 years of age or older on January 1 of the year for which the exemption is claimed.
The total annual household income of the taxpayer does not exceed the anual yearly income threshold which is adjusted annually by the percentage change in the average cost-of-living index.
The taxpayer must submit a sworn statement of household income to the property appraiser no later than March 1 each year.
The county or municipality adopts an ordinance that allows the additional senior exemption, which applies ONLY to the taxes levied by the unit of government granting the exemption. Each Taxing Authority has until December 1 of each year to adopt the ordinance and notify our office. They can keep or drop the ordinance from year to year and they can also change the amount of the exemption as they see fit. If no changes are made, the Department of Revenue, notifies this office in late January of the tax year, as to what the current rate will be for the cost of living increase this tax year. That rate is then applied against the previous years' maximum allowable income, to determine income eligibility.
Disabled Veterans Homestead Property Tax Discount Section
age 65 and older may qualify for a homestead property tax discount if the
veteran has an honorable discharge from military service, is partially disabled
with a permanent service connected disability that is combat-related, and was a
Florida resident at the time of entering military service. The discount is
equal to the percentage of the veteran’s permanent service connected disability
as determined by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.
$500 Widow’s Exemption Section 196.202, F.S.
Any widow who is a permanent Florida
resident may claim this exemption. If the widow remarries, she is no longer
eligible. If the husband and wife were divorced before his death, the woman is
not considered a widow. You may be asked to file a death certificate with the
Columbia County Clerk of Court when filing for the first time.
$500 Widower’s Exemption Section 196.202, F.S.
Any widower who is a permanent
Florida resident may claim this exemption. If the widower remarries he is no
longer eligible. If the husband and wife were divorced before her death, the
man is not considered a widower. You may be asked to file a death certificate with
the Columbia County Clerk of Court when filing for the first time.
$500 Disability Exemption Section 196.202, F.S.
Every Florida resident who is totally
and permanently disabled qualifies for this exemption. If filing for the first
time, please present at least one of the following as proof of your disability:
A certificate from a licensed Florida physician, or a certificate from the
United States Department of Veterans Affairs, or documentation from the Social
$5000 Disabled Veteran Section 196.24, F.S.
Any ex-service member who is a
permanent resident of Florida and is disabled at least 10% in war or by
service-connected misfortune is entitled to a $5000 exemption. If filing for
the first time, please present a certificate from the United States Government.
Under certain circumstances the benefit of this exemption can carry over to the
veteran’s spouse in the event of the veteran’s death. Consult your appraiser
$500 Exemption for blind persons Section
Florida resident who is blind qualifies for this exemption. If claiming
exemption based on blindness, a certificate from the Division of Blind Services
of the Department of Education or the United States Department of Veterans
Affairs or the Federal Social Security Administration certifying the applicant
to be blind is required. “Blind person” is defined as an individual having
central vision acuity 20/200 or less in the better eye with correcting glasses,
or a disqualifying field defect in which the peripheral field has contracted to
such an extent that the widest diameter or visual field subtends an angular
distance no greater than twenty degrees.
Statute 196.011(11) mandates that Social Security numbers of the applicant and
the applicant's spouse, if any, be provided on new exemption applications for
them to be deemed complete. For exemptions already granted, Social Security
numbers must be furnished by January 1, 2000 for the exemptions to remain in
effect for year 2000 and beyond. This information is safeguarded as
Service-connected total and permanent disability exemption Section 196.081, 196.24 F.S. Applies only to Homestead
Any honorably discharged veteran
with a service connected total and permanent disability, surviving spouses of
qualifying veterans and spouses of Florida resident veterans who died from
service-connected causes while on active duty as a member of the United States
Armed forces are entitled to an exemption on real estate used and owned as a
homestead less any portion thereof used for commercial purposes.
Persons entitled to this exemption
must have been a permanent resident of this state as of January 1st of the year
of assessment. Under certain
circumstances the benefit of this exemption can carry over to the veteran’s
spouse in the event of the veteran’s death.
The unremarried surviving spouse of such a disabled ex-service member
who, on the date of the disabled ex-service member's death, had been married to
the disabled ex-service member for at least 5 years is also entitled to the
If filing for the first time, please
bring a certificate from the United States Government or United States
Department of Veterans Affairs as your proof of a service-connected disability
or death of your spouse while on active duty.
Exemption for totally and
permanently disabled persons Section 196.101, F.S.
Applies only to Homestead Property
1. Any real estate used and owned as
a homestead, less any portion thereof used for commercial purposes by any
quadriplegic shall be exempt from taxation.
2. Any real
estate used and owned as a homestead, less any portion thereof used for
commercial purposes, by a paraplegic, hemiplegic or other totally and
permanently disabled person, as defined in Section 196.012(11), F.S., who must
use a wheelchair for mobility or who is legally blind, shall be exempt from
taxation. Persons entitled to the exemption under number two (2) above, must be
a permanent resident of the State of Florida as of January 1st of the year of
assessment. Also, the prior year gross income of all persons residing in or
upon the homestead shall not exceed the amount of income, set forth in section
196.101(4), F.S., adjusted annually by the percentage change of the average
cost of living index issued by the United States Department of Labor. Gross
income shall include United States Department of Veterans Affairs benefits and
any social security benefits paid to the person. A statement of gross income must accompany the application. If filing for the first time, please bring a
certificate from two (2) licensed doctors of this state (for the legally blind,
one of the two certificates may be from a licensed optometrist of this state)
or a certificate (per s. 196.091, F.S.) from the United States Department of
Religious, Literary, Scientific or Charitable Exemption Sections 196.195,
196.196, 196.197, 196.2001, 196.2002 F.S.
Applicants requesting exemption
shall supply such fiscal and other records showing in reasonable detail the
financial condition, record of operation, and exempt and nonexempt uses of the
property, where appropriate, for the immediately preceding fiscal year as are
requested by the property appraiser or the value adjustment board. Specific
criteria has been established for determining whether an applicant for a
religious, literary, scientific, or charitable exemption under this chapter is
a nonprofit or profit making venture or whether the property is used for a
profit making purpose. For a complete description of these criteria and the
associated determining factors, please see the referenced Florida Statutes. No
application for exemption may be granted for religious, literary, scientific,
or charitable use of property until the applicant has been found by the
property appraiser or, upon appeal, by the value adjustment board to be
nonprofit as defined in this section.
Charter School Facilities Exemption Sections 196.1983 F.S.
exemption from ad valorem taxes. The owner of the property shall disclose to a
charter school the full amount of the benefit derived from the exemption and
the method for ensuring that the charter school receives such benefit. The
charter school shall receive the full benefit derived from the exemption
through either an annual or monthly credit to the charter school's lease
Hospitals, Nursing Homes and Homes for Special Services Sections 196.197 F.S.
for exempting property used by hospitals, nursing homes, and homes for special
services. (1) The applicant must be a Florida corporation not for profit that
has been exempt as of January 1 of the year for which exemption from ad valorem
property taxes is requested from federal income taxation by having qualified as
an exempt organization under the provisions of s. (2) In determining the extent
of exemption to be granted to institutions licensed as hospitals, …
Go to our Download Forms page to download the appropriate application form.
For filing deadlines, see our Important Dates page.